Album Review: Jeff Campbell – Stop and Go

Jeff Campbell has arrived with his brand new studio effort titled “Stop and Go”.  The San Francisco native brings his blend of country tinged rock to a receptive and open minded audience that looks for a break from the ordinary type of music out there today.

“Shut Your Mouth” is a simple, elegant country tinged tune that introduces you to Jeff’s comforting voice that flows consistently throughout the entire track. “Something for Nothin” picks up the melodic pace a bit and is a very lyrically strong track that resonates strongly with the listener long after the song has ended. “Southern” is my favorite tune off the disc with its acoustic guitar flowing right out of the seams and Jeff’s voice providing an emotionally resonating tune that you will definitely grow to love. His music is easy to listen to, and follow along. Lyrically, he’s very reflectionary, and he sings mostly about good times. . I’d also recommend country music fans to give this album a listen, as this has a good natured vibe that you’d find in most country songs. Standout songs include: “Laundry Day”, “It Stopped Raining”, and “Shut Your Mouth”. Overall, he’s a very clear cut musician who is very straightforward in his songs.

Album Score: B-

Track Listing:

  1. Shut Your Mouth
  2. Somethin For Nothin
  3. Leftside
  4. 4th Street
  5. Southern
  6. Dollars for Dimes
  7. Drive
  8. It Stopped Raining
  9. Do I Get A Moment
  10. Laundry Day
  11. Promise